Danish House Sit

maggiehoegh

Danish House Sit

  • Applications have closed
  • Fjaltring, Lemvig
  • Posted 2 years ago
  • Duration: Variable
  • Date from: 2017-06-02
  • Date to: 2017-07-25
  • Pets: Domestic cats, horses
  • Property Care & Maintenance: Indoor pet management

Description

Intro:

We are a semi-retired couple in our 50’s with houses in Spain and Denmark. Usually, we divide our time between the two properties but currently, we are spending most of our time in Denmark with a few visits to Spain. These visits are for 3-4 weeks during the months of February, June and October.

We are looking for a responsible and caring couple who will be based at our house in Spain and switch to Denmark during our visits to Spain.

We have used house sitters for the past 15 years and so have good experience helping people orient to our properties. Over time, we have developed our own orientation manual and are happy to e-mail this as relevant.

Description:

Our Danish farm house is located on the west coast, in the first row, a short 300 meters from the ocean. There is quite a bit of history behind it as it was here that the “Beach Ranger” lived – the official who watched for ship wrecks, saved any surviving seamen and retrieved goods from the beach.

The west coast of Denmark is known for it’s rugged and dramatic beauty. To the north and south of us, there are several well known tourist areas and attractions to visit but our little hamlet remains a bit of a hidden gem. It’s not often that we run into other people during our walks on the beach.

Fjaltring is a small village of 200, many of whom are artists. There are several art galleries and a local shop for groceries. Our nearest town is Lemvig – very picturesque and located on the fjord – 15 minutes by car. Our nearest city is Holsterbro where there is a large concert hall, museums and shopping – 30 minutes by car.

The closest airport is Billund, 2 hours by car.

Beyond the car provided, there is a local free bus to Lemvig and surrounding area as well as train service.

Responsibilities:

We are looking for a couple who are non-smoking, have no substance abuse problems with alcohol or drugs, are mentally stable, physically healthy, responsible and conscientious as well as clean and tidy.

In Denmark, we have cats, dogs and horses.

In Spain, there are only half feral outdoor cats (not pets) to feed and the house to take care of.

Please also see our Spanish house profile under “Spanish House Sit”.

Animal responsibilities in Denmark:

3 male German Shepherds: Feed 2xday, walk on beach, play.

2 barn cats: Fill automatic cat feeder 1xweek.

4 horses: Fill hay feeder every 2-3 days. Top up water trough 2xday. Give “vitamin cookie treat” 1xday. They are kept outside with shelter during the mild months and so very easy. During the month of February, when we are in Spain, if the weather is bad, they may need to be stabled which would require some mucking out. We have a newly remodeled stable and everything is steamlined and easy. Our horses are Friesians, very sweet and docile.

House responsibilities in Denmark:

Keep the house clean.

Cut grass.

Water indoor plants 1xweek.

Take rubish to the bins.

Check mail.

“Poop patrol” the dogs area every few days.

The car may need an occasional vacuum and wash.

Sleep on the premises each night.

Property Type: #N/A
Responsibilities: See description.
Points of interest: Public Transport, Cafes & Restaurants, Cinema, Theatre, Beach, Historical Interest, Pubs, Bars, Nightclubs, Hiking Trails
Things to know: See description.
Property Type:
#N/A
House-Sit Duration:
Variable
Date from:
2017-06-02
Date to:
2017-07-25
Property Care & Maintenance:
Indoor pet management
Things to know:
See description.
Responsibilities:
See description.
Points of interest:
Public Transport
Cafes & Restaurants
Cinema
Theatre
Beach
Historical Interest
Pubs
Bars
Nightclubs
Hiking Trails

Location