valkyr52 United Kingdom

Property Type: House (detached / semi-detached)

We have lived in our quirky but homely Victorian farmhouse since 1991. Much time was spent in renovating it over the years, but it is unspoiled and has a friendly, comfortable ambience; houseplants on every windowsill (requiring weekly watering, but only in dry weather). The garden is where it really comes into its' own. It has been transformed from a house plonked in a field, to a stunning flower and tree-filled retreat from the outside world. Our village is in a very rural, beautiful and quiet setting, 10 minutes drive from the beautiful city of Hereford and the smaller, but quaint town of Ledbury. There is a church and one pub in our village, but no longer any shop or post office. However, there are other pubs and a shop, a short bus ride away. There are two other period properties within shouting distance. The surrounding fields and woods are full of wildlife--owls, buzzards, deer, woodpeckers and other garden birds. For those rainy days or dark evenings, you can stay in as we have wifi, and Sky television/DVD player. There are nice walks all around, both in our village and within 20 minutes drive, such as the Malvern Hills. There are buses to Hereford and Ledbury from the main road (10 minutes walk from our house). Hereford has a new shopping complex, with plenty of restaurants and coffee houses, which complements the old town itself, with its cathedral, Saturday market in the centre, and interesting small shops. As we are normally home for most of the time, we need housesitters who can give security to the house, and companionship and comfort to our pets during our absence. Day trips out should be limited to 3 hours maximum. We have a most interesting one acre garden, bordered on 2 sides by fields and a small stream. For this reason, we choose NOT to take our dogs on walks through the village, but rather play in their own environment, where there is plenty to interest them. We have a nervous DalmatianXCollie male, a cheerful SpringerXLab bitch, and my daughter's Boxer male. They're all friendly, but lively and quite "barky". Our Dalmatian dog doesn't really like our daughter's Boxer, so we generally play with them separately during the daytime, though we are trying hard to integrate them more and more. They're more settled in the evenings, sitting in the livingroom with us. The bitch loves them both! We have 3 cats: a laidback ginger tom, a cheeky young black and white tom, and a feisty black and white female who has her own room with access to the outside.

House-Sit Duration: 10 days
Dates From : July 24, 2017 13:00
Dates to: August 4, 2017 00:00
Property Care & Maintenance:
  • Indoor pet management
  • Domestic dogs
  • Domestic cats
Things To know: We normally have sitters arrive the afternoon prior to housesit, to get to know us, as well as the the pets and routine, stay overnight and be with the pets when we leave in the morning; also stay overnight on the night we return (usually about midnight), when we then take the reins! THE DATES LISTED INCORPORATE THE CHANGEOVER DAYS. To reiterate, our pets are very important to us and are used to having us around, therefore days out should only be 3 hours at a stretch, or the dogs may well disturb the neighbours with their barking.
Responsibilities: The only responsibility is to be around as company for our pets, with day trips limited to 3 hours maximum. Leave the property tidy as you find it on arrival. We have a cleaner and a gardener.
Points of interest:
  • Supermarket
  • Fresh Food / Farmers Market
  • Public Transport
  • Cafes & Restaurants
  • Cinema
  • Theatre
  • River
  • Historical Interest
  • Gym
  • Public Swimming Pools
  • Vineyards
  • Pubs
  • Bars
  • Hiking Trails

Your privacy is important to us and we will never rent or sell your information.


Go up

- Enter Your Location -
- or -