CarolineA United Kingdom

HOUSE-SIT TAKEN!
Property Type: House (detached / semi-detached)
Description:

We are looking for some house/pet sitters to look after our house on the devon/cornwall borders from September (18th) 2016 to end of January (31st) 2017. The property is a character, stone-built 3-bedroom house with an attached 2-bedroom holiday cottage (although at this time of year there will be no bookings). The property is in a beautiful rural hamlet, in fact it’s in a designated ‘area of outstanding natural beauty’, with lovely friendly neighbours. We have a one-acre plot with beautiful gardens and a veggie plot. We have some chickens that will need looking after but other than that our top priority is that our border collie dog.

Our Home
This is a beautiful place to spend time if you like the countryside and the rural way of life, if you like peace and quiet and walking it would be ideal for you. It's so great that many people choose to spend their two week holiday here and the cottage is let during the summer months. It’s slightly different here in the winter, but in some ways preferable. There are many great tourist attractions nearby which are empty and the beaches are quiet and the walking is fantastic.

The hamlet in which we live has eleven houses (all close by) and two surrounding farms, everybody here is nice and friendly and will enjoy a chat with you over the garden gate and would help you out in any kind of emergency.

We are in the Tamar Valley very close to the River Tamar in a very rural location. We have Launceston to the North, Tavistock to the east, Liskeard to the west and Plymouth to the south. Stoke Climsland village is approx 2 miles away with a well stocked shop, post office and social club and a fantastic learning resource in the ‘old school’ where there are many classes and activities taking place which you would be most welcome to join. There is a pub 'the Royal Inn' with good food a 1.5-2 mile walk away. Callington is the nearest town with a big supermarket about 5 miles away. We are about 40 mins from Plymouth city centre.

House-Sit Duration: Approx four months
Dates From : September 18, 2016 00:00
Dates to: January 31, 2017 00:00
Property Care & Maintenance:
  • Garden
Pets/Animals:
  • Domestic dogs
Things To know: The only essentials are that you have your own car as our location is very rural and that you can provide references.
Responsibilities: Feed the chickens and walk and look after the dog (a ten year old border collie) and keep the house warm and lived in. It would be helpful if you were able to cut the grass a couple of times before the winter sets in, otherwise it is too long in the spring and we have both a petrol and a ride on mower so it's quite fun. It would also be helpful if you could pick up the leaves once they are all down as they kill off the grass if left all winter. Other than that mainly observational stuff, are things working and functioning as they should. It would be helpful if you are practical and have some basic DIY skills, and maybe know one end of a hammer from another, as the occasional nail or fence post needs banging in! But we are only talking regular house maintenance, as long as you can keep us in the loop with any potential problems we can arrange to get any bigger issues fixed as needed. We have had house sitters for three long sits of two and four months (thhree times) before and have a long document detailing all the information you would need to know.
Points of interest:
  • Supermarket
  • Fresh Food / Farmers Market
  • Cafes & Restaurants
  • Cinema
  • Theatre
  • Beach
  • River
  • Historical Interest
  • Sporting Venues
  • Gym
  • Public Swimming Pools
  • Vineyards
  • Pubs
  • Hiking Trails
SIGN INTO YOUR ACCOUNT

Your privacy is important to us and we will never rent or sell your information.

 
×
FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?
×

Go up

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -