Summer housesit 30 May – 9 June NE Dordogne FRANCE 2 dogs

Nudac

Summer housesit 30 May – 9 June NE Dordogne FRANCE 2 dogs

  • This position has been filled
  • Thiviers , Dordogne ,
  • Posted 2 months ago
  • Duration: 10 days
  • Date from: 2019-05-30
  • Date to: 2019-06-09
  • Pets: domestic dogs
  • Property Care & Maintenance: Light gardening

Description

We live in a 12th century former Knights Templar building originally, and subsequently a working mill alongside the River Cole, (classed as a category 1 river in France) in the north east Dordogne, known regionally as the Perigord Vert. It rains here a bit in the winter, hence the name. The property was completely restored in 2017/18 and now provides a warm, comfortable, private and extremely peaceful home. The property sits in 8 acres on the valley floor of mainly meadow and woodland, in an extremely private and not-over-looked location with no close or visible neighbours as such. (Closest neighbour of 2 is about 250 metres away). It’s very quiet, calm, serene and peaceful here, and nothing ever really happens; good for the spirit, but you do need a car! The nearest thriving market town of Thiviers is only 5 kms or 8 minutes drive away, where you can get everything you need. The nearest village is St Romain et St Clement, about 1km away. It has no shops. This is not the typical Dordogne beloved of mass tourism and British reality TV programmes, but rather a much quieter area dotted with small-holdings, meadows, much woodland and a bit of livestock. Not intensively farmed at all. There are expats here, but they tend to go un-noticed. Closest big town is Perigueux, about 40 minutes drive away south down the N21. Limoges is about 1 hrs drive north up the N21. Brantome known as the ‘Venice’ of the Dordogne is 20 minutes drive away.

There are 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms available, a large fully fitted kitchen/diner, office, laundry room, bolier room and a sitting room. Ample outside eating areas, with covered and uncovered terraces. There is satellite TV, reliable 4g internet with no limitations. There is no fixed phone line, and the mobile signal is poor inside the property itself, but OK outside in the grounds, in the right places.

We have one large very chilled-out big dog currently. Figgy is a 6 year old Portuguese mountain dog cross, female. We hope to add a similar type of dog early in the new year; a male puppy called Monet who will be around 7/8 months old, by the time this house sit comes around.

The following paragraph is very important, so please do take note.

Our need is for a pet sit and a home sit. Our No 1 priority is our dogs. Secondly the security of our home, as it’s in a private and relatively isolated spot. We are a retired couple and we spend around 90/95% of our time at home; it’s not difficult it’s a magical place. This means that our dogs are not used to being frequently left on their own, or for extended periods of time. As such we are looking for a person(s) willing and able to replicate our pattern and style of behaviour and living as closely as possible during our absence. This is a committment we would wish to seek assurances on. Obviously persons wishing or intending to use our home as a sightseeing base for trips and lunches out on a regular basis, whilst providing a minimal amount of care, attention and company to our dogs are not going to be compatible with our needs. We would prefer a single person or a couple, non-smoker (s), but above all, someone who is prepared to spend a lot of time at the property and is a lover of large dogs. Would suit a self-contained type of person maybe, an artist or a writer perhaps. The welfare and well-being of our two pets is paramount and takes priority please. Responsibilities would include feeding obviously, once a day, two local walks per day and regular brushing . Running the vacuum cleaner over the rugs on a daily basis is also required due to plentiful dog hair!

In the summer it gets pretty hot where we are, typically around 30c. However, the location with all the trees and the river maintains things at a nice ambient temperature. The house is made of stone with very thick well insulated walls, and provided you manage the doors, windows and shutters sensibly, stays cool in the summer months. The evenings cool down every quickly as soon as the sun sets, and the nights are temperate. Thank you for your interest.

Property Type: Apartment / Flat / Unit
Responsibilities: Care for the dogs and our home.
Points of interest: Fresh Food / Farmers Market, Cafes & Restaurants, Vineyards, Hiking Trails
Things to know: You need a car as we are in a very rural location.
Property Type:
Apartment / Flat / Unit
House-Sit Duration:
10 days
Date from:
2019-05-30
Date to:
2019-06-09
Property Care & Maintenance:
Light gardening
Things to know:
You need a car as we are in a very rural location.
Responsibilities:
Care for the dogs and our home.
Points of interest:
Fresh Food / Farmers Market
Cafes & Restaurants
Vineyards
Hiking Trails

Location